“Nobody’s gonna put me in a balloon again!”: A Thank You Letter to “Killer Klowns from Outer Space”

 

So, this is my thank you letter to Killer Klowns from Outer Space….

Dear all Killer Klowns,

When I was around 7, I was a naive little girl with dreams of becoming a princess. But when you came into my life, you changed all that. I became terrified of clowns thanks to you, Killer Klowns from Outer Space. My grandparents raised me and had no idea how to censor HBO from me or why they should. So, I used to watch all these movies that I totally should NOT have been watching. The most memorable is and will always be you. What’s more traumatizing to a young girl than evil clowns with acidic pies, cotton candy human cocoons (used to store dead bodies for delicious blood-slurping later), and evil popcorn clown babies?! Yes, this was the ultimate recipe for nightmares and imagination gone wild. I was no longer so naive and now gained a little bit of twisted.

I was mezmorized by your gory, absurd and slightly funny sensibilities. You were different, more sinister than my quirky Pee Wee’s playhouse obsession. You were the beginning of my obsession with all things kitsch. Of course, as a child, I had no idea what kitsch meant, but it fueled my adult tastes of kitschy movies and TV shows for years to come. You can almost say that Killer Klowns was my Howard the Duck. I loved all these kind of awful absurd and funny movies. The cheesier the movie was, the better: Garbage Pale Kids, The Fly, Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles, and Dead Snow (Just to name a few of those that I have loved through out the years) all thanks to you.

Anyone who has been anyone in my life has had to watch you, as a sort of test. Do I really want to be around someone that can’t appreciate the artistry of Killer Klowns? I think not. So, yes, Thank you KKFOS. You have defined some of my movie tastes forever and for that I am grateful.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fHXy8DpF5k0

 

 

Leave a Reply

