Geek Resolutions of 2013

Happy New Year! 🙂 And with the start of the new year comes many resolutions. I have my own contrived resolutions to tackle: weight losing, time traveling, saving money, developing a cyborg etc. But on my geek blog it’s best to explore the many awesome geeky resolutions I want to make for 2013.

Read “The Adventures of Sherlock Holmes” by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle and re-watch BBC’s Sherlock

For all those who are as Sherlocked as me, this one is a no brainer. Although I have read “The Speckled Band” and other Doyle stories here and there. I don’t quite remember all of the details and haven’t connect the dots to the BBC show Sherlock quite the way I want. In lieu of my literary amnesia,  I have decided to go back and read the majority of  “Sherlock Holmes: The Complete Novels and Stories” (Vol 1 & 2). I mean there’s some definite down time between season 2 and 3, and there’s no better way to spend that down time than reading the stories and novels about our beloved consulting detective and his dedicated sidekick Watson. I can’t wait to go back and get all the references I missed the first time around. I already finished “A Study in Scarlet”, and it was excellent. I recommend this geeky resolution for all Sherlock fans!

1753466-1

Go to More Nerd-centric Events

So I am guilty of making lots of plans to go out and do fun things that interest me, and then I end up staying home with some Ben & Jerry’s Greek Blueberry Graham Vanilla froyo and watching re-runs of BSG. Well no! Not this year! I vow to go out more and do the dorky things I know and love. I started off by buying tickets to this year’s SF Sketchfest which includes watching Garfunkel and Oates and RVSP’d to the Academy of Science Nightlife with Nerdist podcast folk. It’ll be awesome and just the beginning of the year. I am going to Comic Con this Summer and hope to find more events that interest me along the way.

Take a Literary Tour of San Francisco

I’m only a quick car ride away from SF, a city that is full of authorial inspiration and historical places. What better way to explore parts of the city than to do it through a literary tour of SF. I have already been to City Light Books, but I want more! I know there are tons of places the Beats hung out, like Vesuvio a a dank dive bar in North Beach that I haven’t stepped foot inside of.  There are a ton of places where writers got inspired and created some of the best prose imaginable, and I intend to visit those places.

literary-city-20110626-191209

Join or Start a Book Club

Now, I have been saying this I will do this for many years, but this year, I am dead set on reading 50+ books before 2013 is over. One of the ways I can accomplish that without driving myself mad (it’s hard to not share your reading experiences) is to join or start a book club. This isn’t inherently geeky, but I think books are underrated and bookphiles are extremely hard to come by in the everyday. One must go out and find those passionate readers, and me thinks this is the best way to do so! I haven’t decided if I’ll start one myself, but either way, I’ll make sure to post book reviews on my book blog.

Write, Write, Write! 

That’s right! I vow to write more. Perhaps this is the most important of my geeky resolutions. I love writing in my blog, and I really want to do more articles and branch out. I might start submitting some articles and see where it goes. I wrote so much in grad school and now I write marketing copy, but alas, I love writing creatively for a broad audience. My blog has served as a great outlet, and I hope to continue writing as much as possible in 2013 without many interruptions or too many misspellings.

Happy Geeky 2013!

2 thoughts on “Geek Resolutions of 2013

  1. If a book club doesn’t work, look up some reading challenges! There are lots of book blogs that host them and then plan schedules to post and/or chat about readings 🙂

Leave a Reply

